How to handle controls
Previous Topic  Next Topic 

Use the Course Layout Editor to handle controls. 

Create a new control

Create a new Control by using the "New Control" tool in the Course Symbols toolbar.  Alternatively, use the New item in the Control menu, or the "New Control" shortcut on the standard toolbar.

Edit a control

You can edit an existing control by first selecting it. 

  1. Select the control by either clicking on the control's circle on the map, or by clicking on the control's code in the Controls section of the Task Bar to the left of the map canvas.
  2. Then double-click the mouse on the control circle on the map in the Course Layout Editor; or double-click the control's code in the Controls section of the navigation bar to the left of the map.

A control dialog will open, and it will let you to change the control description for the control, and other data stored for the control.

Delete a control

If you want to entirely delete a control,

  1. First select the control.  Make sure that "All controls" are shown on the canvas - you should see the control circles for all controls - you should not see a course.  Click on the control's circle, or click on the control's code in the Controls' section of the navigation bar to the left of the map canvas.
  2. Then press the "Del" key, or use the right-click menu item "Delete", or the menu Control/Delete Control.

Please note:  When you delete the control entirely, it will no longer exist in the database.  However, the control's code may still exist on the courses that use the control.  These courses will then be incomplete, since there is a missing control.

Remove a control from a course

If you want to remove the control from a course:

  1. First select "Courses" in the control bar to the left of the map in the Course Layout Editor,
  2. Click on the course you want to delete the control from,
  3. Select the control you want to remove - click on the control's circle.
  4. Finally press the "Del" key on the keyboard.

Please note: The control will be removed from the course only, and will still exist in the database for the event.